New: Chip can now take voice calls from your website chat (beta). Hear how it works

The founding cohort is open: 6 months free for the first 20 teams, picked by hand. Apply

Best Invoicing Software for Service Businesses

16 invoicing software for service businesses, each with who it suits, where it falls short and a source for every price. No scores or star ratings.

Updated 28 Sep 2026
Next review 27 Dec 2026
16 tools · 22 min read
Disclosure: We make startbuddi, so we've put it first and been upfront about where it falls short. There are no scores or star ratings here. Every price and feature below comes from the tool's own website or our own test account, and each one links to its source.

At a glance

Best Invoicing Software for Service Businesses: at a glance
ToolBest forStarting priceFree plan
startbuddi Ours Service businesses that invoice from the client record and take payment online Free plan. Paid from $29 a month Starter plan, our pricing Yes
Wave logoWave US and Canadian freelancers who want unlimited free invoices $19 USD, per month (Pro; $190 per year) Yes
FreshBooks logoFreshBooks Freelancers who want invoicing tied to time tracking and accounting $23 USD, per month (Lite), regular price Trial only
QuickBooks Online logoQuickBooks Online Small businesses that want invoices tied to their bookkeeping $38 USD, per month (Simple Start, 1 user) Yes
Xero logoXero Businesses that want invoicing tied to their accounts $25 USD, per month (Early, US) No
Zoho Invoice logoZoho Invoice Freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription Free Yes
Invoice Ninja logoInvoice Ninja Freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing $14 USD, per month, billed monthly (Ninja Pro); $140 billed annually Yes
Bonsai logoBonsai Freelancers who send proposals and contracts before invoicing $9 USD, per user per month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly) Trial only
HoneyBook logoHoneyBook Freelancers and small service businesses that book clients with proposals and contracts $29 USD, per month, billed annually (Starter) Trial only
Dubsado logoDubsado Service-based freelancers who send contracts, invoices and forms to clients $335 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter plan) Trial only
Stripe Invoicing logoStripe Invoicing Businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection Pricing on the US page; no fixed fees or setup costs. Plus adds quotes. Not stated
Paystack logoPaystack African businesses that want invoices customers can pay online by card or transfer No setup or monthly fee. Fees vary by country; see Paystack's pricing page. No
PayPal logoPayPal Businesses whose customers already pay with PayPal or Venmo Transaction-based pricing. Sending invoices has no fee; an optional Invoicing Subscription Not stated
Square Invoices logoSquare Invoices US small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments $49 USD, per month per location (Square Plus) Yes
Harvest logoHarvest Teams that bill clients for tracked time and expenses $9 USD, per seat per month, billed monthly ($108 per seat per year billed annually) Yes
Invoice2go logoInvoice2go Sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices $79.99 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter) Trial only

Prices are list prices as each company publishes them, never converted. startbuddi's price is shown in your currency where we can.

startbuddi

Our product Best for service businesses that invoice from the client record and take payment online
Best for
Service businesses that invoice from the client record and take payment online
Starting price
Free plan. Paid from $29 a month Starter plan, our pricing
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Invoices are created from the customer record and paid by card or bank transfer through Paystack or Stripe, with the payment matched back to the invoice. Invoices, estimates and payment links live in Money Manager.

Strengths
  • Invoice from the client record
  • Pay online through Paystack or Stripe
  • Free plan includes invoicing
Limitations
  • Customers can't accept an estimate online; they reply by email
  • Automatic reminders depend on a scheduled job being on in your workspace
  • No Flutterwave
Wave logo

Wave

Best for uS and Canadian freelancers who want unlimited free invoices
Best for
US and Canadian freelancers who want unlimited free invoices
Starting price
$19 USD, per month (Pro; $190 per year)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, mobile app

Wave's free plan includes unlimited invoices and estimates with online card and bank payments. Pro adds automated late payment reminders and custom branding.

Strengths
  • Unlimited invoices, estimates and bookkeeping records on the free plan
  • Online card and bank payments on invoices
  • Pro adds automatic bank import and unlimited receipt capture
  • Optional payroll and bookkeeping services
Limitations
  • Only available to businesses in the US and Canada
  • Automatic bank transaction import and late payment reminders are Pro only
  • Removing Wave branding and adding more users need Pro
FreshBooks logo

FreshBooks

Best for freelancers who want invoicing tied to time tracking and accounting
Best for
Freelancers who want invoicing tied to time tracking and accounting
Starting price
$23 USD, per month (Lite), regular price
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android

FreshBooks lets you track time, turn it into invoices and take online payments, with the accounting done in the same place. The Lite plan is limited to 5 billable clients.

Strengths
  • Invoicing, recurring billing and online payments
  • Receipt scanning and bank imports for expenses
  • Double-entry accounting and reports
  • iPhone and Android apps
Limitations
  • Lite plan allows only 5 billable clients; Plus allows 50
  • Each extra team member costs $11 a month
  • Project profitability and automated client emails need Premium ($70 a month regular price)
QuickBooks Online logo

QuickBooks Online

Best for small businesses that want invoices tied to their bookkeeping
Best for
Small businesses that want invoices tied to their bookkeeping
Starting price
$38 USD, per month (Simple Start, 1 user)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, mobile (paid plans)

QuickBooks Online sends invoices and records payments inside a full accounting system. The US Free plan is limited to 2 invoices a month, and batch invoicing is on the Advanced plan.

Strengths
  • Free plan to track income and expenses and send 2 invoices a month
  • Bill pay, expense categorisation and automated bookkeeping from Simple Start
  • Accountant access on every paid plan
  • 30-day free trial of paid plans
Limitations
  • Free plan has no mobile app, integrations or accountant access
  • Project profitability and inventory start on Plus ($140 per month)
  • Simple Start covers 1 user
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Xero logo

Xero

Best for businesses that want invoicing tied to their accounts
Best for
Businesses that want invoicing tied to their accounts
Starting price
$25 USD, per month (Early, US)
Free plan
No
Platforms
Web

Xero sends quotes and invoices from inside its accounting software, so payments land in your books. The US Early plan caps invoices at 20, and Growing removes the cap.

Strengths
  • Quotes and invoices on every plan
  • Cash flow forecasts on every plan
  • Multiple currencies and project tracking on Established
  • Expense and mileage claims on Established
Limitations
  • Early is limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills
  • Multi-currency needs Established ($90 per month)
  • No free plan
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Zoho Invoice logo

Zoho Invoice

Best for freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription
Best for
Freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription
Starting price
Free
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Zoho Invoice is a free invoicing tool for small businesses and freelancers. The free plan includes up to 2 users, 3 projects and 500 invoices a year.

Strengths
  • Free with no paid tier
  • Up to 2 users
  • Project tracking for up to 3 projects
  • Upgrade path to Zoho Billing
Limitations
  • Limited to 500 invoices a year
  • Invoices carry 'Powered by Zoho Invoice' branding
  • More advanced billing needs a move to Zoho Billing
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Invoice Ninja logo

Invoice Ninja

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing
Best for
Freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing
Starting price
$14 USD, per month, billed monthly (Ninja Pro); $140 billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android; self-hosted option

Invoice Ninja is invoicing software with quotes, recurring billing, expenses, projects and a client portal. It is open source and can be self-hosted, and the hosted free plan allows up to 5 clients with unlimited invoices.

Strengths
  • Free plan with unlimited invoicing for up to 5 clients
  • Open source with a self-hosting option
  • Connects to Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless and many other gateways
  • Native apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android
Limitations
  • Free plan is limited to 5 clients and shows 'Created by Invoice Ninja'
  • Extra account users, bank sync and e-invoicing (PEPPOL) need Enterprise, from $18 a month
  • Auto late-payment reminders and REST API access are not on the free plan
Bonsai logo

Bonsai

Best for freelancers who send proposals and contracts before invoicing
Best for
Freelancers who send proposals and contracts before invoicing
Starting price
$9 USD, per user per month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android

Bonsai links proposals, contracts and invoices so a freelancer can move a client from quote to payment in one place. Invoicing starts on the Essentials plan at $19 per user per month billed annually.

Strengths
  • Proposals, contracts, invoices and payments in one account (Essentials and up)
  • Client portal, forms and scheduling on Essentials
  • Unlimited projects and clients on every plan
  • iOS and Android apps
Limitations
  • No free plan, only a 7-day free trial
  • Invoicing and payments are not in the Basic plan; they start on Essentials at $19 per user per month billed annually
  • Integrations (QuickBooks, Xero, Zapier) and branding removal start on Premium
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
HoneyBook logo

HoneyBook

Best for freelancers and small service businesses that book clients with proposals and contracts
Best for
Freelancers and small service businesses that book clients with proposals and contracts
Starting price
$29 USD, per month, billed annually (Starter)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, mobile app

HoneyBook is a client management platform for small service businesses, covering proposals, contracts, invoices and payments, a client portal and lead forms. Every plan has unlimited clients and projects, and the Essentials plan adds more automation and team features.

Strengths
  • Starter includes unlimited clients and projects, proposals, contracts, invoices and payments
  • Client portal and all professional templates on every plan
  • Free trial with no card required
Limitations
  • No free plan, only a free trial
  • Starter allows up to 2 live lead forms
  • Most automation and team features start on Essentials
Dubsado logo

Dubsado

Best for service-based freelancers who send contracts, invoices and forms to clients
Best for
Service-based freelancers who send contracts, invoices and forms to clients
Starting price
$335 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter plan)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, mobile app

Dubsado is client management software for service businesses, covering lead capture forms, contracts, invoicing with payment plans and client portals. The Premier plan adds scheduling, automated workflows and a Zapier integration.

Strengths
  • Invoicing and payment plans, client portals and unlimited clients on both plans
  • 21-day free trial with full Premier access and no credit card
  • Premier includes scheduling, automated workflows, public proposals and bookkeeping integration
  • 3 additional users included free; extra brands are $10 per month each
Limitations
  • No free plan; plans are priced per year
  • Scheduling, workflows, proposals and Zapier are not on the Starter plan
  • Starter allows 1 lead capture form
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Stripe Invoicing logo

Stripe Invoicing

Best for businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection
Best for
Businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection
Starting price
Pricing on the US page; no fixed fees or setup costs. Plus adds quotes.
Free plan
Not stated
Platforms
Web (Stripe Dashboard), API

Stripe Invoicing creates and sends invoices from the Stripe Dashboard or API, with a hosted payment page for each invoice. It charges a percentage of each paid invoice on top of Stripe's payment processing fees.

Strengths
  • No fixed fees or setup costs
  • Stripe-hosted invoice page and a customer portal
  • Automatic reminders and Smart Retries for failed payments
  • Auto-reconciliation of invoices paid by ACH credit or wire
Limitations
  • Stripe Payments processing fees apply on top of the invoicing fee
  • Quotes need the Plus plan
Paystack logo

Paystack

Best for african businesses that want invoices customers can pay online by card or transfer
Best for
African businesses that want invoices customers can pay online by card or transfer
Starting price
No setup or monthly fee. Fees vary by country; see Paystack's pricing page.
Free plan
No
Platforms
Web dashboard, Paystack Merchant App

Paystack Invoices let you send a simple or professional invoice from the dashboard or mobile app, with line items, tax and discounts, and the customer pays through Paystack Checkout. You can send reminders and mark invoices paid for offline payments. There is no subscription.

Strengths
  • No setup or monthly fee is listed; you pay per transaction
  • Payment Pages for one-time, subscription and product payments, shared as a link
  • Simple and professional invoices with line items, tax, discounts and reminders
  • Local methods such as mobile money, M-PESA and bank transfer where available
Limitations
  • Pricing documentation covers only Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Côte d'Ivoire
  • Payment methods differ by country, so check what your customers can use
  • Invoices are sent by email, so each recipient needs an email address
PayPal logo

PayPal

Best for businesses whose customers already pay with PayPal or Venmo
Best for
Businesses whose customers already pay with PayPal or Venmo
Starting price
Transaction-based pricing. Sending invoices has no fee; an optional Invoicing Subscription
Free plan
Not stated
Platforms
Web, PayPal mobile app

PayPal Business lets you send branded invoices and payment links that customers can pay by PayPal, Venmo, card, Pay Later or bank. There is no monthly fee for standard use; PayPal charges a fee on each payment.

Strengths
  • Customers can pay by PayPal, Venmo, Apple Pay, cards, Pay Later or bank (ACH)
  • Recurring invoices and automatic payment reminders
  • Branded invoices with logo, colours, taxes and discounts
  • Payment links and buttons as well as invoices
Limitations
  • Fees are charged on every payment and differ by country, so check PayPal's fees page for yours
Square Invoices logo

Square Invoices

Best for uS small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments
Best for
US small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments
Starting price
$49 USD, per month per location (Square Plus)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Square Invoices lets businesses send invoices, recurring invoices and estimates, and get paid by card or bank transfer. It is part of Square's free plan, with paid Plus and Premium plans that add features.

Strengths
  • Invoices, recurring invoices, estimates and contracts on the free plan
  • Customers can pay invoices by card or ACH bank transfer
  • Plus adds payment schedules and custom invoice templates
  • Premium includes 24/7 phone support
Limitations
  • Payments go through Square, so you can't bring your own processor
  • Paid plans are charged per location per month
  • This page covers US pricing; fees and features vary by country
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Harvest logo

Harvest

Best for teams that bill clients for tracked time and expenses
Best for
Teams that bill clients for tracked time and expenses
Starting price
$9 USD, per seat per month, billed monthly ($108 per seat per year billed annually)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mac, iOS

Harvest turns tracked time and expenses into invoices and connects to Stripe, QuickBooks Online and Xero. It suits service teams that bill by the hour rather than businesses needing full accounting.

Strengths
  • Free plan for 1 seat and 2 projects, including invoicing and expense tracking
  • Teams plan includes unlimited seats and projects and team reporting
  • Connects to Stripe, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Deel
  • 30-day free trial on paid plans
Limitations
  • Timesheet approvals and profitability reporting are on the Enterprise plan ($14 per seat per month)
  • The free plan is limited to 1 seat and 2 projects
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Invoice2go logo

Invoice2go

Best for sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices
Best for
Sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices
Starting price
$79.99 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
iOS, Android, Web

Invoice2go is an invoicing app for service businesses, with estimates, reminders, card and bank payments and a US business bank account. Plans are limited by the number of invoices a year, and there is a 30-day free trial.

Strengths
  • Unlimited estimates, projects, clients and team members on every plan
  • Bank transfers (ACH) and a business bank account and debit card
  • QuickBooks and Xero integration and advanced reports on Professional
  • 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee
Limitations
  • Starter is capped at 30 invoices a year and Professional at 100
  • Card payments are charged per payment, at rates that depend on the plan
  • Recurring invoices and phone support are only on Premium; banking is provided by a US bank
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026

How we chose these tools

  • Built for or usable by small businesses and small teams
  • A published product page and pricing page we could check
  • Actively maintained, with a working sign-up or trial
  • Covers the core job this list is about, not just a feature of it
  • A mix of free, low-cost and established options

About this list

Where the facts come from

Every price, plan and feature comes from the tool's own website, pricing page or docs, or from our own test account. Each tool links to its sources and shows the date we checked them.

What we leave out

No scores, star ratings or review counts. If we can't confirm a fact from an official source, we leave it out and mark it "not published".

When it's reviewed

Last updated 28 Sep 2026. Next review due 27 Dec 2026. We review every list at least every 90 days.

Spotted something out of date?

Prices and plans change. Tell us and we'll check it again.

See if startbuddi fits your business.

Start on the free plan and set it up with your own clients. You can always come back to this list.

Start with the one thing you need. The rest is there when you're ready.

Free plan available. Every paid plan starts with a 30-day trial.