New: Chip can now take voice calls from your website chat (beta). Hear how it works

The founding cohort is open: 6 months free for the first 20 teams, picked by hand. Apply

QuickBooks alternatives

16 tools to consider instead of QuickBooks, with who each one suits, where it falls short and a source for every price. No scores or star ratings.

Updated 27 Sep 2026 · Next review 26 Dec 2026 16 tools · 22 min read
Disclosure: We make startbuddi, so we've put it first and been upfront about where it falls short. There are no scores or star ratings here. Every price and feature below comes from the tool's own website or our own test account, and each one links to its source.
TL;DRThe short answer
  • Small businesses that invoice clients and want to see money in and out? startbuddi.
  • Small businesses that want accounting and invoicing in one? Xero.
  • US and Canadian freelancers who want free invoicing and bookkeeping? Wave.
  • Freelancers and small service businesses that bill clients and need simple accounting? FreshBooks.
  • Small businesses that want accounting, invoicing and tax in one app? Zoho Books.
  • UK small businesses that need Making Tax Digital VAT returns and payroll in one place? Sage Accounting.
Find your fit · 2 questions

Which alternative suits you?

1. Do you need a free plan?
2. Which sounds most like you?
Answer both to see a suggestion. It only uses the facts on this page.

QuickBooks alternatives side by side

QuickBooks alternatives: side by side
ToolBest forStarting priceFree plan
startbuddi Ours Small businesses that invoice clients and want to see money in and out Free plan. Paid from $29 a month Starter plan, our pricing Yes
Xero logoXero Small businesses that want accounting and invoicing in one $25 USD, per month (Early, US) No
Wave logoWave US and Canadian freelancers who want free invoicing and bookkeeping $19 USD, per month (Pro; $190 per year) Yes
FreshBooks logoFreshBooks Freelancers and small service businesses that bill clients and need simple accounting $23 USD, per month (Lite), regular price Trial only
Zoho Books logoZoho Books Small businesses that want accounting, invoicing and tax in one app ₦3,600 per month, billed yearly (Standard) Yes
Sage Accounting logoSage Accounting UK small businesses that need Making Tax Digital VAT returns and payroll in one place £20 per month, excluding VAT (Start) Trial only
FreeAgent logoFreeAgent UK sole traders and small companies that file to HMRC themselves £10 per month (Unincorporated landlords), excluding VAT Yes
Kashoo logoKashoo Small businesses that want double-entry bookkeeping with unlimited users $30 USD, per month, or $324 per year billed annually Trial only
Akaunting logoAkaunting Freelancers and small firms wanting open-source accounting they can host themselves $8 USD, per month, billed yearly (Standard Cloud; $12 billed monthly) Yes
Manager.io logoManager.io Small businesses that want free, offline accounting software $59 USD, per month (Cloud Edition) Yes
Invoice Ninja logoInvoice Ninja Freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing $14 USD, per month, billed monthly (Ninja Pro); $140 billed annually Yes
Bonsai logoBonsai Freelancers and small agencies who want proposals, contracts and invoices together $9 USD, per user per month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly) Trial only
Zoho Invoice logoZoho Invoice Freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription Free Yes
Invoice2go logoInvoice2go Sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices $79.99 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter) Trial only
Square Invoices logoSquare Invoices US small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments $49 USD, per month per location (Square Plus) Yes
Stripe Invoicing logoStripe Invoicing Businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection Percentage-based pricing from the US page. No fixed fees or setup costs. Plus is 0.5% per Not stated

Prices are list prices as each company publishes them, never converted. startbuddi's price is shown in your currency where we can.

The alternatives

startbuddi

Our product Best for small businesses that invoice clients and want to see money in and out
Best for
Small businesses that invoice clients and want to see money in and out
Starting price
Free plan. Paid from $29 a month Starter plan, our pricing
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Money Manager covers invoices, payment links, subscriptions, estimates and contracts, expenses and bills, cash flow and simple profit and loss. Payments by card and bank transfer run through Paystack or Stripe.

Strengths
  • Invoices, payment links and a pay-me page
  • Expenses, bills and cash flow in one place
  • Paystack and Stripe for payments
Limitations
  • Not accounting software: no general ledger, tax filing or bank reconciliation
  • No bank feeds or QuickBooks/Xero sync
Xero logo

Xero

Best for small businesses that want accounting and invoicing in one
Best for
Small businesses that want accounting and invoicing in one
Starting price
$25 USD, per month (Early, US)
Free plan
No
Platforms
Web

Xero is accounting software covering invoices, quotes, bills and cash flow forecasts. The US plans run from Early to Established, with limits on invoices and bills on the entry plan.

Strengths
  • Quotes and invoices on every plan
  • Cash flow forecasts on every plan
  • Multiple currencies and project tracking on Established
  • Expense and mileage claims on Established
Limitations
  • Early is limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills
  • Multi-currency needs Established ($90 per month)
  • No free plan
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Wave logo

Wave

Best for uS and Canadian freelancers who want free invoicing and bookkeeping
Best for
US and Canadian freelancers who want free invoicing and bookkeeping
Starting price
$19 USD, per month (Pro; $190 per year)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, mobile app

Wave is accounting and invoicing software for small businesses in the US and Canada. The free Starter plan includes unlimited invoices, estimates, bills and bookkeeping records. Pro adds bank transaction import, receipt capture, late payment reminders and lower card fees on the first 10 transactions each month.

Strengths
  • Unlimited invoices, estimates and bookkeeping records on the free plan
  • Card payments at 2.9% + $0.60 on Starter, with the fixed fee waived for the first 10 transactions a month on Pro
  • Pro adds automatic bank import and unlimited receipt capture
  • Optional payroll and bookkeeping services
Limitations
  • Only available to businesses in the US and Canada
  • Automatic bank transaction import and late payment reminders are Pro only
  • Removing Wave branding and adding more users need Pro
FreshBooks logo

FreshBooks

Best for freelancers and small service businesses that bill clients and need simple accounting
Best for
Freelancers and small service businesses that bill clients and need simple accounting
Starting price
$23 USD, per month (Lite), regular price
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android

FreshBooks is accounting and invoicing software for freelancers and small businesses, with expenses, time tracking, payments and double-entry accounting. Plans are priced by the number of billable clients.

Strengths
  • Invoicing, recurring billing and online payments
  • Receipt scanning and bank imports for expenses
  • Double-entry accounting and reports
  • iPhone and Android apps
Limitations
  • Lite plan allows only 5 billable clients; Plus allows 50
  • Each extra team member costs $11 a month
  • Project profitability and automated client emails need Premium ($70 a month regular price)
Zoho Books logo

Zoho Books

Best for small businesses that want accounting, invoicing and tax in one app
Best for
Small businesses that want accounting, invoicing and tax in one app
Starting price
₦3,600 per month, billed yearly (Standard)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android, Windows

Zoho Books is online accounting software for invoicing, expenses, bank reconciliation, tax and reports. The free plan covers 1 user and 1 accountant for businesses under a revenue threshold, and paid plans add users, bank feeds, inventory and projects.

Strengths
  • Free plan with invoices, quotes, expenses, recurring invoices and a customer portal
  • Bank reconciliation, payment reminders and 50+ reports on the free plan
  • Standard adds bank feeds, e-invoicing, VAT returns and API access
  • Apps for iOS, Android and Windows
Limitations
  • The free plan is limited to businesses with revenue under 50K USD a year and 1,000 invoices a year
  • Sales and purchase orders, multi-currency, inventory and timesheet billing are not on Standard
  • Standard includes 3 users; extra users are a paid add-on
Sage Accounting logo

Sage Accounting

Best for uK small businesses that need Making Tax Digital VAT returns and payroll in one place
Best for
UK small businesses that need Making Tax Digital VAT returns and payroll in one place
Starting price
£20 per month, excluding VAT (Start)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web

Sage Accounting is cloud accounting software for UK sole traders and small businesses, now bundled with payroll and the Sage Copilot assistant. It covers invoicing, bank reconciliation, VAT returns under Making Tax Digital and CIS. Plans differ mainly by users and features such as inventory and multi-currency.

Strengths
  • Unlimited sales invoices and automatic invoice chasing
  • Making Tax Digital VAT submissions
  • Payroll included, with 1 employee on Start and Standard
  • Plus plan has unlimited users
Limitations
  • Start allows 1 user; Standard allows 3
  • Receipt and invoice capture is not included on Start
  • Inventory and multi-currency need Plus (£59 per month excl. VAT after the offer)
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
FreeAgent logo

FreeAgent

Best for uK sole traders and small companies that file to HMRC themselves
Best for
UK sole traders and small companies that file to HMRC themselves
Starting price
£10 per month (Unincorporated landlords), excluding VAT
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, mobile app

FreeAgent is UK accounting software that covers invoicing, expenses, bank feeds, payroll, VAT returns and Self Assessment, filing directly to HMRC. Plans are priced by business type, and some UK bank customers get it free.

Strengths
  • Files MTD VAT returns and Self Assessment directly to HMRC
  • Payroll, projects and time tracking included
  • Free with a NatWest, RBS or Ulster Bank business current account (and Mettle for most plans)
  • 30-day free trial with cancel anytime
Limitations
  • Built around UK tax; the features pages focus on HMRC filing
  • Smart Capture is capped at 10 a month unless you add Unlimited (£5 per month)
  • The partnerships plan does not include Self Assessment
Kashoo logo

Kashoo

Best for small businesses that want double-entry bookkeeping with unlimited users
Best for
Small businesses that want double-entry bookkeeping with unlimited users
Starting price
$30 USD, per month, or $324 per year billed annually
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web

Kashoo is online accounting software with invoicing, online payments, expense and bill tracking, bank feeds and a double-entry ledger in one plan. It has a 14-day free trial with no credit card.

Strengths
  • One plan with unlimited invoices and unlimited users
  • Bank feed sync, sales tax tracking and multi-currency
  • Project and inventory tracking
  • 14-day free trial with no credit card
Limitations
  • No free plan
  • Only one plan, so there is no cheaper tier; the company points new users towards its newer product, TrulySmall
  • Prices are set by location in the page script (USD or CAD)
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Akaunting logo

Akaunting

Best for freelancers and small firms wanting open-source accounting they can host themselves
Best for
Freelancers and small firms wanting open-source accounting they can host themselves
Starting price
$8 USD, per month, billed yearly (Standard Cloud; $12 billed monthly)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web (works on computer, tablet or phone); self-hosted

Akaunting is open-source online accounting software for small businesses and freelancers, covering invoicing, expenses, cash flow and a client portal. The self-hosted Standard edition is free with source code available, and hosted cloud plans start with the one-person Standard Cloud plan.

Strengths
  • Self-hosted Standard edition is free, with the source code available
  • Standard Cloud includes 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant and 1,000 invoices
  • App store adds modules such as double-entry, payroll, inventory and CRM
  • Client portal lets clients see transactions and pay invoices
Limitations
  • Cloud plans have no free tier, only a free trial
  • Double-entry, bank feeds and the client portal start on Premium Cloud ($24 a month billed yearly)
  • Payroll, inventory and CRM apps start on Elite Cloud ($56 a month billed yearly)
Manager.io logo

Manager.io

Best for small businesses that want free, offline accounting software
Best for
Small businesses that want free, offline accounting software
Starting price
$59 USD, per month (Cloud Edition)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Windows, Mac, Linux (desktop and server); web (Cloud Edition)

Manager.io is accounting software with a free desktop edition for Windows, Mac and Linux that has no time or usage limits. A free server edition can be self-hosted, and a paid Cloud Edition is hosted for you with multi-user access.

Strengths
  • Free desktop edition with no time limits, usage limits or ads
  • Works offline
  • Free self-hosted server edition
  • Cloud Edition includes unlimited users and businesses for one price
Limitations
  • Hosted multi-user access in a browser needs the paid Cloud Edition at $59 a month
  • No installation help for the server edition
  • Mobile use is through the browser on Cloud; no native app mentioned
Invoice Ninja logo

Invoice Ninja

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing
Best for
Freelancers and small businesses that want low-cost or self-hosted invoicing
Starting price
$14 USD, per month, billed monthly (Ninja Pro); $140 billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android; self-hosted option

Invoice Ninja is invoicing software with quotes, recurring billing, expenses, projects and a client portal. It is open source and can be self-hosted, and the hosted free plan allows up to 5 clients with unlimited invoices.

Strengths
  • Free plan with unlimited invoicing for up to 5 clients
  • Open source with a self-hosting option
  • Connects to Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless and many other gateways
  • Native apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android
Limitations
  • Free plan is limited to 5 clients and shows 'Created by Invoice Ninja'
  • Extra account users, bank sync and e-invoicing (PEPPOL) need Enterprise, from $18 a month
  • Auto late-payment reminders and REST API access are not on the free plan
Bonsai logo

Bonsai

Best for freelancers and small agencies who want proposals, contracts and invoices together
Best for
Freelancers and small agencies who want proposals, contracts and invoices together
Starting price
$9 USD, per user per month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android

Bonsai combines client management, projects, time tracking, proposals, contracts and invoicing for freelancers and small service businesses. The cheapest Basic plan covers time and task tracking; invoices, payments and contracts start on Essentials.

Strengths
  • Proposals, contracts, invoices and payments in one account (Essentials and up)
  • Client portal, forms and scheduling on Essentials
  • Unlimited projects and clients on every plan
  • iOS and Android apps
Limitations
  • No free plan, only a 7-day free trial
  • Invoicing and payments are not in the Basic plan; they start on Essentials at $19 per user per month billed annually
  • Integrations (QuickBooks, Xero, Zapier) and branding removal start on Premium
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Zoho Invoice logo

Zoho Invoice

Best for freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription
Best for
Freelancers who want free invoicing with no subscription
Starting price
Free
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Zoho Invoice is a free invoicing tool for small businesses and freelancers. The free plan includes up to 2 users, 3 projects and 500 invoices a year.

Strengths
  • Free with no paid tier
  • Up to 2 users
  • Project tracking for up to 3 projects
  • Upgrade path to Zoho Billing
Limitations
  • Limited to 500 invoices a year
  • Invoices carry 'Powered by Zoho Invoice' branding
  • More advanced billing needs a move to Zoho Billing
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Invoice2go logo

Invoice2go

Best for sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices
Best for
Sole traders and service businesses sending a small number of invoices
Starting price
$79.99 USD, per year, billed annually (Starter)
Free plan
Trial only
Platforms
iOS, Android, Web

Invoice2go is an invoicing app for service businesses, with estimates, reminders, card and bank payments and a US business bank account. Plans are limited by the number of invoices a year, and there is a 30-day free trial.

Strengths
  • Unlimited estimates, projects, clients and team members on every plan
  • Free bank transfers (ACH) and a business bank account and debit card
  • QuickBooks and Xero integration and advanced reports on Professional
  • 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee
Limitations
  • Starter is capped at 30 invoices a year and Professional at 100
  • Card payment fees are 3.5% on Starter, 3% on Professional and 2.9% on Premium
  • Recurring invoices and phone support are only on Premium; banking is provided by a US bank
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Square Invoices logo

Square Invoices

Best for uS small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments
Best for
US small businesses sending invoices and taking card or bank payments
Starting price
$49 USD, per month per location (Square Plus)
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Square Invoices lets businesses send invoices, recurring invoices and estimates, and get paid by card or bank transfer. It is part of Square's free plan, with paid Plus and Premium plans that lower some processing fees and add features. Fees are charged per payment.

Strengths
  • Invoices, recurring invoices, estimates and contracts on the free plan
  • ACH bank transfers on invoices cost 1% with a $1 minimum
  • Plus caps ACH invoice fees at $10 and adds payment schedules and custom invoice templates
  • Premium includes 24/7 phone support
Limitations
  • Online card payments on the free plan cost 3.3% + 30¢ (2.9% + 30¢ on Plus)
  • Paid plans are charged per location per month
  • This page covers US pricing; fees and features vary by country
SourcesChecked on 27 Sep 2026
Stripe Invoicing logo

Stripe Invoicing

Best for businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection
Best for
Businesses already on Stripe that want hosted invoices and automatic collection
Starting price
Percentage-based pricing from the US page. No fixed fees or setup costs. Plus is 0.5% per
Free plan
Not stated
Platforms
Web (Stripe Dashboard), API

Stripe Invoicing creates and sends invoices from the Stripe Dashboard or API, with a hosted payment page for each invoice. It charges a percentage of each paid invoice on top of Stripe's payment processing fees.

Strengths
  • No fixed fees or setup costs
  • Stripe-hosted invoice page and a customer portal
  • Automatic reminders and Smart Retries for failed payments
  • Auto-reconciliation of invoices paid by ACH credit or wire
Limitations
  • Stripe Payments processing fees apply on top of the invoicing fee
  • Quotes need the Plus plan (0.5% per paid invoice)

How to switch away from QuickBooks

General advice that applies to most moves. Check what your new tool can import before you start.

Export
  • Contacts and companies
  • Deals or projects, with their stages
  • Notes, tasks and files
Rebuild
  • Only the automations you really use
  • The reports you check every week
  • Email templates
Run both
  • A short overlap while your team switches
  • Then cancel the old plan
  • Keep an archived export

Check your contract first

Many paid plans bill yearly. Check your renewal date so you don't pay for months you won't use.

Weighing up startbuddi?See where QuickBooks is stronger, and where we are.
startbuddi vs QuickBooks

How we chose these tools

  • Built for or usable by small businesses and small teams
  • A published product page and pricing page we could check
  • Actively maintained, with a working sign-up or trial
  • Covers the core job this list is about, not just a feature of it
  • A mix of free, low-cost and established options

About this list

Where the facts come from

Every price, plan and feature comes from the tool's own website, pricing page or docs, or from our own test account. Each tool links to its sources and shows the date we checked them.

What we leave out

No scores, star ratings or review counts. If we can't confirm a fact from an official source, we leave it out and mark it "not published".

When it's reviewed

Last updated 27 Sep 2026. Next review due 26 Dec 2026. We review every list at least every 90 days.

Spotted something out of date?

Prices and plans change. Tell us and we'll check it again.

Try startbuddi free.

Start on the free plan with a copy of your contacts and see if it fits how you work.

Free plan available. Every paid plan starts with a 30-day trial.